Ryder Cup Betting

Ryder Cup Betting

The Ryder Cup is a prestigious golf trophy contested, every two years, by teams from Europe and the United States. Ryder Cup Betting is hotly awaited and is guaranteed to draw huge interest every time.

There is some debate over who suggested the idea for the Ryder Cup. In 1921 there was an unofficial match proposed by Sylvanus P. Jermain, president of the Inverness Club. This was won 9-3 by the British, and in the second match at Wentworth, in 1926, Britain again won - this time 13-1. Samuel Ryder a very keen golfer, who had watched the play, thought it would be good idea to make the match official and thus the Ryder Cup was founded. Ryder, at the age of 51, achieved a handicap of six and was club captain in 1926 and 1927 of the Verulam Golf Club in St Albans.

First Official Match

The first official Ryder Cup match was held in Massachusetts in 1927. Ryder, who donated the gold cup, agreed to pay to each member of the winning team.
Early matches between the two sides were fairly even, but after the Second World War, the US-dominated and led to the decision to include golfers from Europe in 1979. This meant that successful golfers like Severiano Ballesteros and Antonio Garrido were included and since then players from Denmark, France, Germany, Italy and Sweden have been selected to play. As a result of this change, the event has become much more competitive and interesting for Golf Betting punters with Europe winning seven times and retaining the cup once, compared to the American's six wins.

The Format for the Ryder Cup :

Ryder Cup

The Ryder Cup Matches are made up of matchplay matches between players selected from two teams of twelve. Currently, this consists of eight foursomes, eight fourballs and twelve singles matches. The winner of each match scores a point for their team, with ½ a point each for any match that is tied after 18 holes.

A foursomes match is a competition between two teams of two golfers. The golfers on the same team alternate shots throughout the match, with the same ball. A hole is won by the team that completes the hole in the fewest shots. Fourball matches are also between two teams of two golfers, but all four golfers play their own ball and each hole is won by the team whose individual golfer has the lowest score. A singles match is a standard matchplay competition between two golfers.

The matches take place over three days, beginning on Friday morning with the four fourball matches and four foursomes matches in the afternoon. On the Saturday, this schedule is repeated. There are then twelve singles matches on the Sunday.
The format has changed over the years but, in 1979, the first year continental European players participated, the format was changed to the 28-match version in use today.

TOP 5 Providers

98/100 Melbet
92/100 Bet9ja
87/100 Surebet247
84/100 NaijaBet
73/100 Betfarm